More than 200 bills passed by the Washington State Legislature this year are set to go into effect on Thursday, including new laws dealing with tanning beds, religious holidays and the number of credits required for high school students to graduate.
Here is the full list of bills that passed and the date they take effect. Among those taking effect on June 12:
Religious holidays: State employees will be allowed to take two unpaid days off a year for religious reasons, and public school children will be excused for two days under Senate Bill 5173.
Military in-state tuition: Veterans and active duty military members will qualify for in-state tuition at Washington colleges and universities without having to first establish residency. Senate Bill 5318 waives the one-year waiting period for veterans, military members and their families.
Homeless fees: A $40 document recording fee that people pay during real estate transactions, such as buying or refinancing a house, is extended until 2019. The fee supports homeless shelters, affordable housing and other homeless programs.
24 credit diploma: Starting with the class of 2019, high school students will have to earn 24 credits for a diploma. The current minimum is 20 credits, although some school districts require more than the minimum. The bill also provides more opportunities for students to take career and technical classes that meet graduation requirements.
Tanning beds ban: Teenagers under the age of 18 will no longer be allowed to use tanning beds in Washington. Senate Bill 6065 bans minors from using tanning beds, unless they have a written prescription for UV radiation treatment from a doctor. Tanning salons will be fined $250 for violations.
Domestic violence: Washington residents under domestic violence restraining orders will be barred from owning guns. The bill says that someone who is under a protection, no-contact, or restraining order related to domestic violence must surrender his or her guns to law enforcement.
Many of the other bills passed by the Legislature this year take effect July 1, including a bill that bans minors from purchasing cough syrup that contains dextromethorphan.
Also beginning July 1, all adoptees over the age of 18 will have access to their original birth certificates unless a birth parent files a form declining to release the information. More information about the law and forms are available at the Dept. of Health website here.